The Eyes of History Digital Storytelling Contest

About the Digital Storytelling Contest

Recognizing how news imagery is being presented and consumed by the public, the board in 2008 created what was first called a multimedia contest. This contest allowed visual journalists creating work that was being presented in new formats due to advances in technology. Consumers were increasingly accessing their news from personal phones, laptops and tablet computers. And WHNPA members were now creating the content for these modern platforms for news.

Pierre Kattar recognized these changes and was the ideal member to volunteer and grow and evolve the contest. The categories changed almost yearly to keep pace with this changing visual journalism. The contest, now known as Digital Storytelling, created in 2016 the Multimedia Visual Journalist of the Year award with Spencer Millsap of National Geographic magazine as the first recipient.

Alice Li of The Washington Post was the first woman to win in 2018, followed by Whitney Shefte of The Washington Post and Drea Cornejo, also of The Washington Post in 2021.

2023 Contest Information

Please watch this space for more information on the upcoming 2023 Eyes of History contests!

2022 Contest Results

Judging for the 2022 Eyes of History Digital Storytelling contest has concluded. Congratulations to all of our winners!

Angélica Casas of BBC News was named as the 2022 Multimedia Journalist of the Year.

For complete contest results, please click here.

Contest Archive

As we process hard copy archives of past contest winners, the archive of previous winning images will be updated here. Prior year versions of contest rules are provided for reference.