2020 WHNPA Digital Storytelling Winners Announced

(WASHINGTON, D.C. – Feb., 23, 2020) – The White House News Photographers Association® announced the winners of the Digital Storytelling categories in the annual ‘Eyes of History®’ competition.

Dalton Bennett won Multimedia Visual Journalist of the Year. McClatchy won the Documentary or Series category for their piece on the Miami Herald’s investigation into Jeffrey Epstein’s abuse of young girls. NPR, BBC, and The Washington Post also earned first place awards.

The judges for the Digital Storytelling competition were: Haimy Assefa, Jamie Coughlin and Francesca Trianni.

When told of his win, Dalton Bennett said: “I am humbled by this award and am grateful for all those willing to share their stories. As reporters, it is our responsibility to uplift the voices of those silenced and disenfranchised. It is our responsibility to demand answers and let no one escape accountability. Reporting on the Opioid Crisis, I’ve learned that the bonds of a community driven by love and redemption are unbreakable in the face of corporate greed. I’m grateful for their courage.”

“Congratulations to Dalton and to all of the winners for their tremendous work telling timely, important stories on the web in such an impactful way,” said WHNPA president Whitney Shefte.

The still, video and student competitions were also held at the National Geographic Society over the weekend.

The top winners of the still, video, digital and student contests will be honored at the annual ‘Eyes of History®’ gala on June 13, 2020, at the Ritz-Carlton in Washington. The black-tie event celebrates all the winning visual journalists.

The White House News Photographers Association is a 99-year-old non-profit organization dedicated to supporting the efforts of Washington’s professional visual journalists. The WHNPA aims to provide professional and educational outreach to its members and the community through scholarships, programming, an annual competition and a celebration of the industry at the annual “Eyes of History®” gala.

For more information, please contact Whitney Shefte at [email protected] or executive director Heidi Elswick at [email protected] . For further information about ‘The Eyes of History®’ and to view the winning images and videos, visit the WHNPA website at www.whnpa.org.

Click here to download a pdf of this release.