2024 ‘Eyes of History®’ Gala Host Announced

(WASHINGTON, D.C. – May 8, 2024) – The White House News Photographers Association has announced Mary Bruce, as the host and emcee of the 103rd WHNPA ‘Eyes of History®’ awards gala to be held on June 1, 2024, at Washington’s Ritz Carlton Hotel.

The top winners of the still, video, and digital storytelling as well as the student contests will be honored at the annual black-tie gala. One of the highlights of the evening will include presenting the 2024 WHNPA Lifetime Achievement Awards to Bill Alberter of CNN and photojournalist David Burnett of Contact Press Images.

Jessica Koscielniak, WHNPA President and 2024 ‘Eyes of History®’ awards gala Executive Producer said, “We are delighted to announce ABC’s Mary Bruce as this year’s ‘Eyes of History®’ gala host. Mary’s work aligns with the core mission of the WHNPA and is a dear friend to still and video photographers. We are so excited to honor our award winning members, along with Mary on June 1st!”

Bruce is the Chief White House correspondent for ABC News based in Washington, D.C. Her work is seen on Good Morning America,” “World News Tonight with David Muir,” “Nightline” and “20/20.” Mary regularly fills in as an anchor on “GMA” and “World News Tonight” and appears on ABC News Live programs and ABC News Radio. As the senior White House correspondent, Bruce covered the Biden administration and the 2022 midterms.

During the 2020 presidential election, she served as ABC News’ lead campaign correspondent, covering the Biden campaign extensively, from the primaries through major events, including the presidential and vice presidential debates and the conventions.

In November 2020, Bruce reported around the clock for five straight days until a winner was projected in the historic election. In her previous role as senior congressional correspondent, Bruce helped lead the network’s coverage of the first impeachment trial of President Trump, as well as his second impeachment in 2021.

Her outstanding reporting in 2018 on Justice Kavanaugh’s confirmation to the Supreme Court was recognized with the Joan S. Barone Award. In 2020, Bruce was named the Tyndall Report’s second most-used reporter across all the networks.

The White House News Photographers Association is a 103-year-old non-profit organization dedicated to supporting the efforts of Washington’s professional visual journalists. The WHNPA aims to provide professional and educational outreach to its members and the community through scholarships, programming, an annual competition, and a celebration of the industry at the annual “Eyes of History®” gala. For more information, please contact Jessica Koscielniak at [email protected] or executive director Heidi Elswick at [email protected]. For further information about ‘The Eyes of History®’ and to view the winning images and videos, visit the WHNPA website at www.whnpa.org.

To download a pdf copy of this release, please click here.