PRESS RELEASE: 2014 WHNPA Video Contest award winners announced; John Landy of the BBC and Lance Ing of WTTG – FOX – 5 News win top honors

Nation’s Leading Video Photojournalists Compete for Top Awards (download)

(WASHINGTON, D.C. – Feb. 9, 2014) – The White House News Photographers Association announced that John Landy of the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) has been awarded the 2014 WHNPA Video Photographer of the Year in the ‘Eyes of History™’ video contest. Lance Ing of WTTG – Fox – 5 News has been named Video Editor of the Year.

The top award for Landy came after he entered the competition for the very first time. His individual category wins in the contest included first place finishes in the Day Feature, News Feature, and Magazine Feature categories. When told of his win, Landy said, “It’s difficult to express my gratitude to the judges for selecting me as the recipient of the WHNPA award for Videographer of the Year. I am so humbled to have been chosen for this award knowing the quality of the field I was competing with.”

Ing won the award as Video Editor of the Year for his first place finishes in General News, Day Feature, Editing Short Form, Political/Campaign, and Audio categories. Ing said, “I am truly honored again. It has taken me ten years to get a title back.”

WHNPA President Ron Sachs said, “Landy and Ing are excellent examples of the excellence of WHNPA’s members. Both work in the spirit of the Eyes of History™ and their award-winning body of work truly shows how they are the eyes and ears of their viewers through their storytelling.”

The judges for the video photography contest were: Jack Ahearn, James Holloway, and Eric Seals. The video editing judges were: Dan Renzetti, Pam West, and Catherine Steward.

Judging for the still, multimedia and student contests were also held at National Geographic over the weekend.

The top winners of the still, video, multimedia and student contests will be honored at the annual ‘Eyes of History™’ gala on May 10, 2014, at the Ritz-Carlton in Washington. The black-tie event celebrates all the winning photojournalists and the President of the United States. Nearly 1,000 guests, including government dignitaries and industry celebrities, attend.