2024 Broadcast Video Award Winners Announced

(WASHINGTON, D.C. – Feb. 18, 2024) – The White House News Photographers Association® announced that Edward Young of Sky News has been awarded the 2024 WHNPA Video Photographer of the Year in the annual ‘Eyes of History®’ broadcast contest, and Stuart Cohen of PBS Newshour has been named the 2024 Video Editor of the Year in the Broadcast Video contest division of the association’s annual ‘Eyes of History®’ visual journalism competition.

Young was recognized for his body of work which included stories on Hurricane Dalia, U.S. munitions, the border with Mexico and more. Upon learning of his win, Young said, “I’ve been working in the US for two years now and made it a personal goal when I came here to win the WHNPA camera award – both for myself and for Sky News. I never expected to achieve this goal so soon and want to thank the WHNPA and the judges for this huge honor.”

Video editor of the year winner, Cohen’s work included and commenting on his win said, “It’s an incredible honor to join the ranks of the repeat winners of this award. It certainly doesn’t get any less exciting the second time around, especially when looking at the strong competition among this year‘s entrants. I had a chance to work with a good friend on one particularly amazing story this year and it was great to see him recognized for it in the photography categories as well. And once again, the incredibly hard work of the Arts team at the PBS Newshour, gave me the chance to create some amazing stories that just shine above the rest.”

WHNPA President Jessica Koscielniak said, “Congratulations to the winners Ed Young of Sky News and Stuart Cohen of PBS Newshour. Our Video Photographer and Video Editor winners are masters of their craft and deserve this recognition. This year’s video award winners set the standard for Broadcast journalism, and we are immensely proud of their work.”

The judges for the video photography contest were Sheri Gibson, Eric O’Connor and Keith Whelan formerly with CBC, and judges for video editing were Jayne Lukas, Global News Canada; Jeff McDonald with CTV National News; and Les Rose formerly with CBS National News.

Whelan said, “Once I started watching, I discovered that I was lost in the moment,” and Gibson went on to share, “It was very exciting to sit down and watch all the extraordinary entries. Through their craftsmanship, the photographers guided you with their lenses into the heart of the story. I honestly felt their vision and had so many different emotions. These photographers genuinely provoked the viewers’ opinions and some of them left me breathless.” McDonald said, “It was a pleasure to be part of such a talented and dedicated community, celebrating the craft and artistry of news editing. The meticulous attention to detail and the creativity the editors brought to each story made it a challenge to hone in on just one winner. Cheers to all of the Editors!”

The top winners of the still, video, digital and student contests will be honored at the annual ‘Eyes of History®’ gala on June 1, 2024, in Washington. The black-tie event celebrates all the winning visual journalists.

The White House News Photographers Association® is a 103-year-old non-profit organization dedicated to supporting the efforts of Washington’s professional visual journalists. The WHNPA aims to provide professional and educational outreach to its members and the community through scholarships, programming, an annual competition, and a celebration of the industry at the annual ‘Eyes of History®’ gala.

For more information, please contact Jessica Koscielniak at [email protected] or executive director Heidi Elswick at [email protected] (301-606-8251). For further information about ‘The Eyes of History®’ and to view the winning images and videos, visit the WHNPA website at www.whnpa.org.

To download a pdf copy of this release, please click here.